In 1806 William Roscoe, of Allerton Hall, sold this plot of land to John
Moss, a Liverpool merchant. In 1812 Dr Peter Crompton, of Eaton House,
Wavertree, then bought the estate of 55 acres, who in turn sold it to
William Calton Rutson, a Liverpool Merchant, who also acquired the
adjacent Allerton Tower property.
Plans were made to combine these estates and a house was built called
Allerton Lodge. Rutson died in 1817 and the estate went to his son and
heir, William Rutson, DL, JP.
William Calton Rutson’s daughter, Fanny, married a William James of
Barrock, Cumberland, who was the son of William James of Liverpool, who
had married a daughter of Nicholas Ashton of Woolton.
Allerton Lodge was sold in 1832 to Theodore Woolman Rathbone (son of
William Rathbone of Greenbank), and from about this time the Lodge was
being referred to as Allerton Priory.
In 1866, John Grant Morris (1811-1897), a colliery proprietor, acquired
the property (being referred to as Allerton Priory), demolished Allerton
Lodge, then built the present house, which was designed by the
Liverpool-born architect, Alfred Waterhouse, for a little over £18,035.
The mansion carried on the name of Allerton Priory with the Morris
monogram, JGM, and the date, 1867, being inscribed on the inside of the
front entrance porch, and also on the fireplace, which is located at the
far end of the entrance hallway.
Although John Grant Morris died at his London residence in Grosvenor
Place, he is buried in the grounds of St. Peter’s Church, Woolton.
Sisters of the Sacred Hearts of Jesus & Mary
In 1897, Monsignor Nugent (1822-1905) founded a House of Providence (Magdalen
Asylum): “to provide a Home for young unmarried mothers and babies
(after first fall only), and where the young mothers are enabled to
reclaim their character, and afterwards provide good and suitable
The House of Providence, and convent, set up in Woodlands Road, Aigburth,
Liverpool, was under the care of the Sisters of the Sacred Hearts of Jesus
& Mary. By 1914, the Sisters were also running a Certified School
“for mentally defective children” at Ormskirk, Lancashire. On 13th
September 1915, the Sisters established a (residential) School for Special
Educational Needs (girls) at Allerton Priory, where they remained until
1986. The property was then purchased by Mr Danny Mullholland who set up
Allerton Priory Nursing Home [for the elderly], which ceased in 1994-95.
The Grade II* Allerton Priory was eventually purchased
by property developers and redeveloped as luxury apartments...