ARTICLES ABOUT WOOLTON
and No.11 Courts, Rose Street, near to the junction of Vale Road, were purchased in 1896 by the
Church Council of St. Peter’s Church and, after alterations and
decorations, were formally opened as the Mission Cottages in 1897 by
Bishop Ryle. They had been converted for the use of local residents for
religious education as many residents in the Vale Road and Quarry Street
area were so poor they felt that their clothes weren’t good enough for
Despite its success the need for the cottages waned and by 1935 Deaconess
Schofield reported that only 20 families in the parish had clothing that
could be deemed as unsuitable for church. In 1943 the cottages were let at
a nominal rent and in July 1945 the premises were sold for £200.
Woolton Boys’ Club
The Mission Cottages, damaged
during World War 2, were acquired by the Liverpool Boys’ Association in
1945 and were refurbished from funds raised by local auctions and
donations. Their honorary president, Lord Woolton (Frederick James
Marquis, (1883-1964)), who had been awarded Honorary Freedom of Liverpool
in 1946, formally opened the Woolton Boys’ Club in 1947. On the
committee were Mr Clingun, city surveyor (chairman); G D Jones, headmaster
of Woolton Boys’ School (secretary); W Gamble, G L Pilkington, H Hughes,
F C Dwyer, Dr A G C Ffolliott and Rev. M Pryce-Jones, Rector of Woolton.
Other officials connected with the club later were: Councillor Vivian F
Crosthwaite (Much Woolton Ward), chairman; G H Clingham, vice-chairman; P
McKenzie, secretary; committee members, J Parry, J Gibbons; ladies
committee, Miss ‘Bee’ McKenzie, Mrs Rimmer, Mrs Robinson and Miss
Grace Blundell. The club leader was Jack W Parry.
Shortly after he was demobbed, Bob
Paisley (later to become Liverpool FC manager) gave a talk to the Woolton
In January 1957 they celebrated their
10th anniversary in style having won, the previous year, both the LBA
swimming championship and the senior league championship, which resulted
in the club being selected to represent Liverpool at the Lancashire Boys’
Clubs Gala held at Bolton...
They regularly played football on a
playing field that was located at the rear of 216 Vale Road, which is now
Cheddar Close, where Dealcroft and Dovercroft high-rise have been built.
The Woolton Boys’ Club closed in March
1960 and the building has since been used by Edgar Brothers, firearms
merchants (1970s), then a tyre sales warehouse after which the building
was empty for some time. Village Glass (double-glazing specialists who
still occupy the premises today) took over what was the clubs Billiard
Room c.1984, and in 1988 the remainder of the building became the Rose
Nursery & Kindergarten, whose ownership and name changed to Friends
Day Nursery in 2003.